The Southwestern Center for Independent Living (SWCIL) is:

  • Private, non-profit
  • Consumer controlled
  • Non-residential
  • Cross-disability
  • Community-based organization

SWICL's direction is determined by and for people with disabilities consistent with the Independent Living philosophy.

Independent Living is based on the concept that persons with disabilities have the right to choose and live a lifestyle free from discrimination and segregation. It is this belief that directs SWCIL's philosophy of personal control, consumer responsibility, individual choice, societal inclusion and equal access.
Independent living services are available to assist people with disabilities to achieve the goals each individual sets for themselves.
Consumer control means consumers have a responsibility to make decisions about their own life, set their own goals and choose which services or assistance to use.

Service Area

SWCIL's primary service area includes ten (10) counties in southwestern Minnesota:

  • Cottonwood
  • Jackson
  • Lincoln
  • Lyon
  • Murray
  • Nobles
  • Pipestone
  • Redwood
  • Rock
  • Yellow Medicine

Contact SWCIL


(507) 532-2221 (V/TTY)

Toll Free:

(800) 422-1485 (V/TTY)


(507) 532-2222


109 South Fifth Street, Suite 700 Marshall, MN 56258

Donate to SWICL